This weekend The Joe Barry Cup showed good matches and after polo at IPC, where La Indiana, Modere and Colorado got the

15 Jan 2018

Bendura Bank Team is the champion of "16th Bendura Bank Snow Polo World Cup". The Melissa Ganzi team got the win in a

14 Jan 2018

The 2nd day of "16th Bendura Bank Snow World Polo Cup" was the perfect day to Alejandro and Valentín Novillo Astrada

13 Jan 2018

In a fantastic sunshine day in Kitzbühel the 16th edition of the 2018 Bendura Bank Snow Polo World Cup opened the doors

12 Jan 2018

From 12 to 14 January 2018, will take place the 16° Snow Polo World Cup Kitzbühel at the gates of Gamsstadt. The event

11 Jan 2018

In the opening match of the "Joe Barry Cup" on Saturday 6th, Modere defeated Colorado 7-6 in OT, while on Sunday La

08 Jan 2018

Con una gran convocatoria de público, este domingo 7 de enero se despidió en el balneario Cocodrilo de Pinamar la

07 Jan 2018

Tras la reprogramación por lluvia, sábado 6 de enero se disputó la segunda fecha del 23° Grand Slam Sancor Seguros

06 Jan 2018

The Joe Barry Memorial Cup will kick off on Saturday 6th at International Polo Club, Wellington, Florida.

05 Jan 2018

The IPC schedule is ready for the winter season 2017-2018 with four 10 goal players playing in Palm Beach: Facu Pieres,

17 Dec 2017


Cria Yatay upset La Aguada-Las Monjitas Tuesday afternoon at Palermo in the second quarterfinal of the 2016 Argentine Open Championship, 14-10.

29 Nov 2016 0 comment  


Alejandro Novillo Astrada scored the first goal of the game, 1-0, but that would be the last time La Aguada-Las Monjitas would lead in the eight chukker match. A penalty goal from Joaquin Pittaluga and a goal from the field from Magoo Laprida closed out the chukker with the 30-goal Cria Yatay team in the lead, 2-1.

Magoo Laprida added another goal in the opening seconds of the second period, 3-1, followed by goals from Francisco Elizalde (replacing the injured Ignacio Novillo Astrada) and Eduardo Novillo Astrada that tied the game at three goals apiece. Guillermo Terrera scored at the 6:14 mark and Inaki Laprida scored with just 30 seconds left in the chukker to give Cria Yatay a two-goal advantage, 5-3.

Magoo Laprida stretched the lead to three goals with a score in the opening seconds of the third period, 6-3. Pittaluga made it 7-3 a minute later. Magoo Laprida’s third goal of the game had Cria Yatay showing strength as they stretched the lead to five goals, 8-3. Eduardo Novillo Astrada scored the final goal of the chukker but it was Cria Yatay in control and with a lead of four goals, 8-4.

A determined La Aguada-Las Monjitas effort saw them score the first three goals of the fourth chukker with Alejandro Novillo Astrada scoring twice and Miguel Novillo Astrada adding a goal, cutting the Cria Yatay lead to a single goal, 8-7. Pittaluga converted a 40-ayrd penalty shot at 6:15, and Cria Yatay left the field at the end of the first half on top, 9-7.

A scoreless fifth period saw both teams struggle to successfully break through the opponent’s defenses, but to no avail. After seven minutes of play, the score remained, 9-7, in Cria Yatay’s favor.

The Cria Yatay attack picked up momentum again in the sixth chukker with Pittaluga scoring on a penalty conversion and adding a second goal from the field. La Aguada-Las Monjitas was unable to score for the second straight period, and fell behind by four goals, 11-7.

Pittaluga scored on a 30-yard penalty shot to open the seventh to make it 12-7. Alejandro Novillo Astrada responded with a goal just 46 seconds into the period, 12-8. Pittaluga added another penalty goal to end the period with Cria Yatay comfortably in the lead, 13-8.

Eighth chukker goals from Alejandro Novillo Astrada and Eduardo Novillo Astrada were answered by a goal from Inaki Laprida as Cria Yatay celebrated the 14-10 victory.

Pittaluga scored a game high seven goals (six on penalty shots). Magoo Laprida added four goals; Inaki Laprida scored twice and Terrera added a goal for the win. Alejandro Novillo Astrada’s scored four goals (two on penalty conversions) set the pace for La Aguada-Las Monjitas. Eduardo Novillo Astrada scored three times with Miguel Novillo Astrada adding a goal and Francisco Elizalde scoring twice in the loss.

The win sends Cria Yatay into Saturday afternoon’s semifinal against the 40-goal, defending championship La Dolfina quartet.

Progression: 2-1, 5-3, 8-4, 9-7, 9-7, 11-7, 13-8 y 14-10.

Top Scorer: Joaquín Pittaluga, 7 goals.

BPP: Irenita Shakira, played by Joaquín Pittaluga.

Prof. Paola Maldonado
Thanks a lot: Alex Webbe
PH: Matias Callejo-AAP; Paola Maldonado.

Leave a comment

Top Tweets

Connect with Polo Dixit

Get Free Breaking News Alerts!

  • Breaking News
  • Tournaments News
  • And more

About Us

nos dedicamos a la publicacion de noticias y novedades del mundo del polo.
Puedes contactar con nosotros al siguiente email. 
Esperamos tus comentarios y consultas.
 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.