This weekend The Joe Barry Cup showed good matches and after polo at IPC, where La Indiana, Modere and Colorado got the

15 Jan 2018

Bendura Bank Team is the champion of "16th Bendura Bank Snow Polo World Cup". The Melissa Ganzi team got the win in a

14 Jan 2018

The 2nd day of "16th Bendura Bank Snow World Polo Cup" was the perfect day to Alejandro and Valentín Novillo Astrada

13 Jan 2018

In a fantastic sunshine day in Kitzbühel the 16th edition of the 2018 Bendura Bank Snow Polo World Cup opened the doors

12 Jan 2018

From 12 to 14 January 2018, will take place the 16° Snow Polo World Cup Kitzbühel at the gates of Gamsstadt. The event

11 Jan 2018

In the opening match of the "Joe Barry Cup" on Saturday 6th, Modere defeated Colorado 7-6 in OT, while on Sunday La

08 Jan 2018

Con una gran convocatoria de público, este domingo 7 de enero se despidió en el balneario Cocodrilo de Pinamar la

07 Jan 2018

Tras la reprogramación por lluvia, sábado 6 de enero se disputó la segunda fecha del 23° Grand Slam Sancor Seguros

06 Jan 2018

The Joe Barry Memorial Cup will kick off on Saturday 6th at International Polo Club, Wellington, Florida.

05 Jan 2018

The IPC schedule is ready for the winter season 2017-2018 with four 10 goal players playing in Palm Beach: Facu Pieres,

17 Dec 2017


The Manipur Polo International organized by the Manipur Horse Riding and Polo Association (MHRPA) is a part of the Manipur Sangai Festival and is one of the most important calendar polo events in the world. The 11th Edition of the invitational polo tournament held this year was participated by teams from Argentina, England, Morocco, USA and the two host teams India A (IPA) and India B (Manipur).

26 Dec 2017 0 comment  

 The Manipur Polo International is organized with the prime objectives of conserving and preventing the extinction of the Manipuri Pony (regarded as the most sacred animal in Manipur), popularize the game in its place of origin the Mapal Kangjeibung, the world’s oldest polo ground (dating back to early AD) and making Manipur a Polo Tourist destination. It is also intended to remind the world that the present day Polo originated from Manipur’s traditional “Sagol Kangjei” (hockey on horseback).

The teams were slotted in Pool A (England, India B(Manipur) and Morocco) and Pool B (Argentina, India A(IPA) and the USA) for the Robin League: Two top teams to play in the semi-final.

The India B (Manipur) fought it's way to the Semifinal defeating England (8-3) and Morocco (15-2)-in the Robin League. England entered the Semifinal from the same Pool while Argentina and USA entered the Semifinal from the other Pool. The Argentina Vs USA (4-4) drawn match was an absolute thriller much to the delight of the spectators that awaited the fight of two 10-goal teams.

The semi-final matches- Argentina vs England (10-5) and India B(Manipur) vs USA (7-6) enthralled the enthusiastic polo lovers of the people of Manipur. For the India B(Manipur) having lost to the USA in 2015 and Australia in 2016, both in the final, it was an energy and spirit redefined to put up a good show in front of the local crowd. Playing under tremendous pressure against the USA in the Semifinal and Argentina in the grand final was an exceptional experience and a reason to rejoice. The home team-winning the Semifinal against the USA team in a closely fought match (7-6)- had a bigger match to meet the following day.

The home team comprising three players chosen for the first time to play against the foreign teams- L Atangba, Th Jacob and K Jogendra were full of energy backed by senior and experienced players S Bimol, P Ojit and T Pradeep Kumar. Although none of the players from Manipur are assessed for handicap, the level of their standards was gauged from earlier experiences.

The home team played well against an 8-Goal team from the USA some years ago. In the similar ground and environment, the organizers presumed that the Manipur team could be approximately around that number of goals. Hence in the invitations 8 to10 goals mentioned. The final match drew a large crowd- the matches of the tournament too telecast live by the national television network Doordarshan. In a nail-biting finish, the India B (Manipur) won Argentina (7-6).


- India-B (Manipur): L Atangba Singh, Th Jacob, P Ojit, T Pradeep Kumar Singh, S Bimol Singh, K Jogendra Meitei.

- Morocco: Bady Kebir, Hicham Zine, Rachid Haddouche, Philippe Darroux

- Argentina 10: Martin Scortichini (2), Juan Cruz Gramajo (3), Juan Pablo Saravia (2), Miguel Uriburu (3).

- India A (IPA) 5: Maj Narendra Singh (0), Dfr Ram Singh (1), Col Tarsem Singh (2), Dfr Vijay Sing (2).

- USA 10-9: Jorge Vásquez (2), Nate Berube (2), Nick Johnson (3), Kegan Walsh (3), Brennan Wells (2)

- England 7: George Shelton (1), Ben Eeley (2), Phil Seller (2), Robin Ormerod (2)

Prof. Paola Maldonado
News: Manipur Horse Riding & Polo Association & Inder Jit Singh
PH: Momo Irengbam & Inder Jit Singh


Leave a comment

Top Tweets

Connect with Polo Dixit

Get Free Breaking News Alerts!

  • Breaking News
  • Tournaments News
  • And more

About Us

nos dedicamos a la publicacion de noticias y novedades del mundo del polo.
Puedes contactar con nosotros al siguiente email. 
Esperamos tus comentarios y consultas.
 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.